Skip to content

As if I care… OK, sometimes I do

January 15, 2013

That’s me at the Titan Tone Up kick-off

Hello? Is there anyone there? Are any of you reading this?

If you have wondered (or cared) why I have been neglecting my barefoot updates, it is not because I haven’t had anything to say, or because I gave up barefooting. What has kept me from doting on my blog as much as I’d like is the Titan Tone Up—a six-week fitness program that we just launched last week at both my son’s and my daughter’s schools. I’ve been working on this program since school started last August and like most things I endeavor, it was a lot more work than I had anticipated. This column was published today (and written by me) about the Titan Tone Up program. If y’all are interested in learning more about it, take it look.  

That said, the one thing that has gotten me into shoes these past five months is the Titan Tone Up. In planning this program, I have had to contact numerous local businesses to ask for donations. Except for when I met with the owner of a taekwondo academy, I have worn shoes for these meetings, because nothing instills confidence in a person asking you for donations than bare feet, right? I wish! “Who is this shoeless woman asking me for 1,500 water bottles? She says she’s with the schools, but she’s probably just some deranged vagrant.”

My quick response when people ask me why I am not wearing shoes has always been, “Because I don’t like wearing shoes, and I no longer care what other people think.” But of course, when it affects my kids and their schools, I do care. So, I suck it up.

From → Uncategorized

5 Comments
  1. Leroy Ridgway permalink

    I understand. No judgements from me. Sometimes you got to bite the bullet in order to accomplish your goals.

  2. Great blog! I hope you don’t mind that I posted a link to it on my “Barefoot in Colorado Springs” Facebook Page. If you do mind, let me know and I’ll remove it immediately. Take care and happy barefooting!

  3. AmerisourceBergen permalink

    Oh no are you giving up the barefoot lifestyle for good? I hope not.

  4. Kevin W permalink

    That sounds like a great endevour and I wish you all the best! It does suck you have to wear shoes, but its for a great reason considering most elementary children are not active enough. Do you at least get to instruct the classes barefoot?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

