Skip to content

Race report: My slowest 5K

February 26, 2012

My son and me with our after race glow

Yesterday, I participated in a 5K race at my oldest son’s school, finishing with perhaps my worst-ever 5K time, but feeling more accomplished than ever before. I came in at 27:09, a good five-and-a-half-minutes slower than my last 5K, but as you probably already know, I did it in my bare feet. The course was unkind, and even crippling at the final stretch as I was forced to slow my pace down to an almost walk because of all the gravel on the poorly-maintained road.

In the end, my only medal was an enormous blood blister on my big toe. Still, I didn’t regret leaving my shoes at home. For the last several years while I was running shod, I would finish each run knowing that for the rest of the day and sometimes for the next several days, I would be dealing with sore and achy joints. During my shod runs, I felt great, but after my shod runs, I felt old. Sure, the occasional blister on my foot that I now get from running barefoot is annoying, but it is also temporary. It’ll heal in a couple of days, unlike damage I was doing to my joints while running in my shoes.

This blood blister is my badge of honor. And yes, this was taken before I hopped in the shower and washed my feet.

Spreading the barefoot gospel
Running barefoot at a race, unlike running barefoot just on my own, gave me a chance to talk about my favorite subject. I received several comments about my naked feet. Many people couldn’t believe I would run without shoes and many of those people asked me why. I felt like a missionary.

The best part…

Look at him go. I am so proud.


The most satisfying part of the race, however, had nothing to do with me or my feet. Somehow I managed to talk my 10-year-old son into running the 1-mile fun run. I really wasn’t sure how he’d do. In addition to being too caught up in science and art to pursue any athletic endeavors, he suffers from arthritis and we have not yet been able to find a medication that can really alleviate his pain. Still, he finished that 1-mile run in about 8:30—which is an excellent time for a non-running kid. I could tell he was having fun and feeling proud of himself as he crossed the finish line and received his medal. It made me happy to see him enjoying something that I also love and something that is so good for him. I was also relieved to see that his arthritis wasn’t holding him back, as it often does.

And of course I was thrilled when he said he’d like to do it again. Yesterday, he ran in his Vibram FiveFingers, but he says next time he’s going barefoot, too. I guess I’ve got my first convert.

From → Running

One Comment
  1. Shellie permalink

    I’m loving your blog, Marci!

Leave a Reply

