Skip to content

These tan lines are ruining my street cred

April 9, 2012

This past week I bought a road bike and signed up for my first triathlon: The Heatwave Classic. It’s a half-mile swim, 24.5 mile bike ride and a 10K run.

Those events alone are tough. One right after the next is going to wipe me out. So, I’m going to just take it one event at a time. My first goal is to not get eaten by a gator in the Rez. Yes, this is Mississippi and there are alligators in that reservoir. Once out of the water, I will then focus on not crashing my bike. Up until last year, I was a spin instructor secretly terrified of getting on a real bike. I have since overcome this fear (mostly) and now manage to ride on the road even with cars speeding past me.

Once the swim and the ride are out of the way, I’ll be able to relax. It’ll just me and my feet at home on the same multi-use trail where I run every week. Speaking of my feet… Of course, I will swim barefoot and I am planning on running barefoot, but I have yet to find a compelling reason to give up my cycling shoes. Fine, right? Wrong!

Can’t wait until swimsuit season with all my crazy tan lines

I am starting to develop a faint sock line around my ankles, and well, what kind of barefoot runner has sock lines?! There goes all my street cred. Before I know it, my ankles are going to end up looking like my back and thighs—pasty white where the sun don’t shine and toasty brown where it does. Sure you run barefoot—nice sock lines, Farmer Joe. This cannot happen. Hopefully, my time in the sun running will counteract my time in the sun cycling and the ankle/foot melatonin contrast will be unnoticeable. If not, well, I don’t know what I’ll do. Start biking at night? Spray tan my feet? No, even better: I will have the cycling cleats surgically-implanted onto the balls of my feet. Then, I’ll be barefoot, clipped in, ready to ride and tan-line free… at least on my ankles.

One Comment
  1. Elizabeth permalink

    You and me girl. Playing tennis daily has me with the same sock lines and they keep getting darker! Not to mention my tennis skirt line on my thighs and multi tan lines on my back and shoulders from the various tank top styles I wear. When we do do to the pool, I look ridiculous. When I am sans tennis shoes, I look ridiculous.
    I have decided to look at it this way. My extreme tan lines are cool. They make me look like I am a better player than I really am! It’s proof that I do indeed play! Not just look hot in my tennis gear.
    So you rock those tan lines. They are proof that you are a tri-athlete, not just a runner.

Leave a Reply

