Skip to content

I’m an internet super star!

May 14, 2012

True, I have a long way to go before I reach Rebecca Black Friday status or even stoned dentist kid status, but someone out there was interested enough in my barefooting to interview me for a podcast. That person is Caity McCardell, site owner of RunBarefootGirl.com. She’s interviewed all sorts of folks on everything barefoot and everything running as well as other fitness and healthy living topics. I’m on episode #46. Check it out.

Image

.

From → Running

3 Comments
  1. steve permalink

    Congrats on your new fame! I hope I won’t seem stalkerish if I ask a few questions. I was surprised to hear you weren’t a barefooter at all before taking up barefoot running and living. I think most people who try a barefoot lifestyle are people who have always been barefoot quite a bit and then finally decide to not worry so much about social norms. What made you decide to turn you back on shoes so dramatically? Also, do you see your new lifestlyle as more or less permanent, or do you think in a few years you might be looking back on this as your barefoot phase?

    One other comment: You have an exceptionally pleasant speaking voice. You could do voice over work.

  2. Hey thanks Steve! To answer your question, my main motivation was running. I love running and I was afraid I wasn’t going to be able to do it anymore because I kept having injuries and my joints, knees and hips particularly, ached after I ran (and sometimes when I didn’t). I wore supportive shoes all the time, even in my house to help alleviate the joint pain. Being barefoot was uncomfortable. But the science behind barefooting made sense to me so I decided to give it a try. As I started building up muscle strength in my feet, ankles and calves the joint pain went away. After having success with barefoot running, I really didn’t feel like wearing shoes anywhere.

    As far this being a phase or a permanent lifestyle, I have to say that right now I don’t see myself putting on shoes on a regular basis any time soon. But I guess I’m not making any promises, either.

    Thanks for checking my blog and listening to the podcast.

  3. Randy permalink

    You are very lucky you have nice feet. I don’t have nice feet but I love going places barefoot. I chicken out if a store is very busy sometimes. Also If there are mostly men at a store I won’t go in.
    I’m sure you don’t give it a thought as you look great barefooted.

Leave a Reply

