Skip to content

Swim. Bike. Hobble.

June 2, 2012

 photo 009_zps9b8e9bd1.jpg
I am a triathlete… Barely. I finished the 2012 Heatwave Classic, competing in two of the three events in my bare feet.

Swim
I am also directionally-challenged. I walk into a store at the mall, walk out, and can’t remember which way I was originally headed. So you can imagine how difficult it was for me to stay on course in this open-water swim. I never realized how much I depended on that black line at the bottom of the swimming pool until it was gone. To keep from getting totally off-course, I swam a few strokes and then came up to make sure I was still headed in the right direction. Yet, somehow I still managed to swim past the buoy. And if the gators were swimming with me, I wouldn’t have even known. The water was so murky I couldn’t see my hand in front of my face.

Bike
Really, the weather couldn’t have been more perfect for a bike ride on the Natchez Trace. I don’t know how we lucked out this year. The Heatwave Classic is named such for a reason. Last year they were riding in triple-digit temperatures.

Hobble.
If I didn’t have a stress fracture before I started the race, I am pretty sure I have one now. My foot has been bothering me for the past two months. I noticed it a little right before the Warrior Dash, but it didn’t really slow me down during that race. I had been trying to rest my foot as much as possible since then, while still teaching boot camp and spin classes, but I just knew it was going to cause me trouble during this race.

I packed my Nike Frees and planned to wear them, but when I transitioned off the bike, I got so excited to start my run that I didn’t want to stop. I hopped off my bike, threw off my helmet and cycling shoes and started running. I felt fine the first mile. I started hurting a little at the second mile. I was still able to fake it at mile three, but by mile four, I had to walk. I was limping by mile five and did my best Quasimodo impression from there all the way across the finish line. Monday morning I’ll be calling the orthopedist.

Was it worth the finish? Probably not. But will I do another triathlon and will I continue to run barefoot? Yes. And hell yes… After I heal, though, of course.

From → Running

6 Comments
  1. Paul E. von Savoye permalink

    I am sorry about your sore foot. Congratulations on finishing the race even as an injured warrior. I hope that you heal quick and completely.

  2. Thanks Dad!

    • Paul E. von Savoye permalink

      I sure hope that your foot heals competely and soon so you wont be handicapped during our vacation. I love you so very much and I am very proud of you. You are my awesome little daughter… ❤ ❤ ❤

  3. Matthew Medina permalink

    Congrats on finishing, even if it was hobbling at the end. And I hope your feet are OK, and that you’re back to normal soon! We might all be “born to run” but that doesn’t mean it comes easy. 😉

  4. barefootward permalink

    Congratulations on your accomplishment, you did a hole lot better than I could have. Well done.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Color me barefoot! | shodoff

Leave a Reply

